Hell Hound Brown Hell Hound Brown

Hell Hound Brown

Beer Info

Beer Style
American Brown Ale | American Ale
ABV
5.3%
IBU
36
Vessel
  • Mug
  • Pint or Tumbler
Availability
Year Round

A perfect balance of bitter and sweet, this bold brown ale will surprise your pallet and bite you when you’re not looking.  Derived from an old time favorite this brew was constructed with passion and dedication to get it just right and that why it’s winning all the awards.

BierBuzz review

Hell Hound Brown 2012-08-19 00:11:30 Jason
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Look 
 
4.0
Smell 
 
4.0
Taste 
 
4.0
Feel 
 
4.0
Drinkability 
 
4.0
Jason Reviewed by Jason    August 19, 2012

Review

Serving Type
Bottle
Look
Dark as night
Smell
Great chocolatly malts with a very smell roasty hint.
Taste
The chocolate malt hits the tongue right off the bat but not too pronounced followed through with a roasty touch that the malt backbone fills out. Light bitter character in the end with no hops in the taste.
Feel
Velvety and creamy with a prickly touch on the tongue.
Drinkability
Overall a solid Brown that give you what your looking for in a brown. The chocolate malt give this beer a unique taste in the mix.
Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
 

Community reviews

Average user rating from: 4 user(s)

To write a review please register or log in.
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Look 
 
3.9  (4)
Smell 
 
4.0  (4)
Taste 
 
3.9  (4)
Feel 
 
3.6  (4)
Drinkability 
 
3.9  (4)
 
Hell Hound Brown 2012-08-28 20:49:08 hlthprof
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Look 
 
4.0
Smell 
 
4.0
Taste 
 
4.5
Feel 
 
3.5
Drinkability 
 
4.0
hlthprof Reviewed by hlthprof    August 28, 2012

Nice Brown Chris!

Review

Serving Type
Bottle
Lush Factor
I've had a few, but I know what I'm talking about.
Look
Nice dark color with creamy head
Smell
Nutty, Roasty, Sweet, Toasty... its all in there! Very mild hop note
Taste
Has a traditional nutty flavor but some great roasty and caramel accents are noted that really set this brwon apart. Its smooth and almost creamy with a great malty finish
Feel
Nice wet finish that lingers... keps you comin back for another sip!
Drinkability
Great effort on this Brown and one I would highly recommend. All right you new castle folks.... theres a new brown in town and you need to move up the ladder to a truly great ale.
Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
Hell Hound Brown 2012-08-19 00:12:41 Bier Baron
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Look 
 
3.0
Smell 
 
3.0
Taste 
 
2.5
Feel 
 
2.5
Drinkability 
 
2.5
Bier Baron Reviewed by Bier Baron    August 19, 2012

Hell Hound

Review

Serving Type
Bottle
Lush Factor
I've had a few, but I know what I'm talking about.
Look
very dark brown, almost black
Smell
has a definite toasty smell
Taste
this Brown possesses a distinguished chocolaty, roasted flavour
Feel
heavy to full-bodied
Drinkability
As Browns go, this is exactly what it's supposed to be...it's just not my bag
Was this review helpful to you? 
01
Report this review
Hell Hound Brown 2012-08-19 00:09:05 Beer and Tofu
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Look 
 
3.5
Smell 
 
4.0
Taste 
 
3.5
Feel 
 
3.5
Drinkability 
 
4.0
Beer and Tofu Reviewed by Beer and Tofu    August 19, 2012

Review

Serving Type
Bottle
Look
Dark as night
Smell
Chocolaty
Taste
Dark, chocolate
Feel
Velvety, smooth
Drinkability
Good beer with a full body and nice consistency
Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Hell Hound Brown 2012-07-23 01:26:37 jenta351
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Look 
 
5.0
Smell 
 
5.0
Taste 
 
5.0
Feel 
 
5.0
Drinkability 
 
5.0
jenta351 Reviewed by jenta351    July 23, 2012

One of the best beers ever!

Review

Serving Type
On Tap
Lush Factor
I've had a few, but I know what I'm talking about.
Look
The look is a medium to dark brown color. You can still see through it so it's not quite a porter. Very clear with a perfect frothy and creamy head that added great texture.
Smell
Sweet chocolatey aroma with a bit of caramel coming through.
Taste
The initial taste had a great roasted quality followed by nutty chocolate. It tasted completely balanced and rounded out in it's flavor profile offering a sweet and bitter aspect, the way a real brown should taste.
Feel
The carbonation was slight and the malty flavor enveloped my tongue but did not leave a lasting roasty taste leaving me open to have another sip or enjoy it with a great meal and not be worried that my palette would be ruined.
Drinkability
I love this beer and will be looking for it everywhere I go. I highly recommend this beer to anyone looking for a great brown ale. It will not weigh you down and drinks very easily. It'll surprise you how good it is!
Was this review helpful to you? 
13
Report this review
 

Brew Search

Category:     Keywords:   

A Favorite Among

Other users interested in
Hell Hound Brown